Christian Eckes wins the tumultuous Atlanta Truck Race

Christian Eckes pulled off the victory in Saturday’s NASCAR Truck Series race at Atlanta International Speedway despite a tumultuous overtime and a race interrupted by wrecks.


Nick Sanchez was in the lead before a late-race collision that included Carson Hocevar resulted in a two-lap overtime.

Eckes, 22, quickly took the lead after the resumption, subsequently lost it to Sanchez, then reclaimed it just before the final lap’s multi-truck crash in Turn 4 brought out the caution flag.

Eckes, who had to emerge victorious from the back of the field mid-race due to a speeding violation, now has his first victory of the year.

Eckes, a Middletown, New York native, transferred from ThorSport Racing to Bill McAnally Racing over the winter and has one previous series victory.

“There’s a lot of thoughts for sure. It was a tough offseason,” Eckes said. “I’m driving as hard as I ever have – a have a lot to prove to the people who know who they are.

“Just really happy. Thanks to this team, they work so damn hard and this is what makes it all worth it. I’m pumped. This is going to be a really good year.”

Sanchez finished second, John Hunter Nemechek third, Bayley Currey fourth, and Matt DiBenedetto fifth.

Ben Rhodes, Timmy Hill, Chase Purdy, Matt Crafton, and Jack Wood round out the top 10.

In the course of the 137 laps that were completed, there were 11 cautions, seven of which were in the last stage.

Cla#Driver ManufacturerLapsTimeGapIntervalLaps Led
119 Christian Eckes Chevrolet1372:17’05.600  35
22Nicholas Sanchez Chevrolet1372:17’05.6780.0780.07811
317 John Hunter Nemechek Toyota1372:17’05.8060.2060.12853
441 Bayley Currey Chevrolet1372:17’06.0350.4350.229 
599 Ben Rhodes Ford1372:17’06.4100.8100.3753
625 Matt DiBenedetto Chevrolet1372:17’06.4110.8110.001 
74 Chase Purdy Chevrolet1372:17’06.8351.2350.424 
856 Timmy Hill Toyota1372:17’06.8361.2360.0012
988 Matt Crafton Ford1372:17’07.0151.4150.17929
1051Jack Wood Chevrolet1372:17’07.0161.4160.0012
1198 Ty Majeski Ford1372:17’08.0742.4741.058 
1213 Hailie Deegan Ford1372:17’08.1432.5430.069 
1332Bret Holmes Chevrolet1372:17’08.5352.9350.392 
1430 Ryan Vargas Toyota1372:17’08.6923.0920.157 
1502 Kris Wright Chevrolet1372:17’08.9093.3090.2171
1643Daniel Dye Chevrolet1372:17’09.0383.4380.129 
1746Akinori Ogata Toyota1372:17’09.0393.4390.001 
1835Jake Garcia Chevrolet1372:17’09.2493.6490.210 
1923 Grant Enfinger Chevrolet1372:17’09.4263.8260.177 
2038Zane Smith Ford1372:17’10.3884.7880.962 
2112 Spencer Boyd Chevrolet1372:17’10.3894.7890.001 
2252 Stewart Friesen Toyota1372:17’13.1147.5142.725 
2322 Josh Reaume Ford1372:17’13.2097.6090.095 
2415 Tanner Gray Toyota1372:17’22.06516.4658.856 
2524Rajah Caruth Chevrolet1372:17’33.39427.79411.329 
2616 Tyler Ankrum Toyota1362:16’34.5211 Lap1 Lap 
279Colby Howard Chevrolet1342:15’19.8113 Laps2 Laps 
281Layne Riggs Toyota1342:17’12.2663 Laps1’52.455 
2933Mason Massey Ford1342:17’17.4163 Laps5.150 
305Dean Thompson Toyota1312:17’28.1246 Laps3 Laps 
3142Carson Hocevar Chevrolet1272:09’09.92110 Laps4 Laps 
3245Alan Lawless Chevrolet1262:03’33.69411 Laps1 Lap 
3304Kaden Honeycutt Ford1232:17’23.71814 Laps3 Laps1
3411Corey Heim Toyota831:14’23.75254 Laps40 Laps 
3520Mason Maggio Chevrolet5252’34.52085 Laps31 Laps 
3634Keith McGee Ford77’14.772130 Laps45 Laps 
Below are some of the most well-known NASCAR drivers’ apparels , all of which are available at reasonable costs. Visit our link now if you are interested in the racing clothing collection:

IndyCar, Nascar, NASCAR Cup Series, Nascar 2023, Christian Eckes, NASCAR Truck Series, Atlanta Motor Speedway, Carson Hocevar, Nick Sanchez

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *